About the OCR

The Office of Clinical Research (OCR) is a central office in the Perelman School of Medicine (PSOM) designed to support the management and conduct of clinical research while promoting compliance. This is accomplished through standardizing the approach to clinical research across the various research centers and departments in the Perelman School of Medicine, and supporting investigative teams through regulatory and operational assistance, and enhancements in study management and oversight.

Mission Statement

The Office of Clinical Research seeks to promote human research for the advancement of healthcare while ensuring the highest level of research participant safety and facilitating the highest quality research by:

  • Realizing the best research standards through adherence to university and government research policies and regulations;
  • Supporting investigators and research teams through process improvement, innovative technologies, and education and training initiatives;
  • Propagating best operational practices to maximize the efficiencies of research activities;
  • Collaborating with University organizations involved with human research.
     

Meet the Team

Leadership

Emma A. Meagher, M.D.
Vice Dean for Clinical Research & Chief Clinical Research Officer
Phone: (215) 662-2174
Email: emma@upenn.edu

Mitch Appleson, CPA, MBA

Mitch Appleson, CPA, MBA
Executive Director
Phone: (215) 662-4484
Email: ​appleson@upenn.edu

Operations

Laura Fluharty
Director, Clinical Research Operations
Phone: (215) 662-4616
Email: ​lauraee@upenn.edu

Lori Conley
Sr. Clinical Research Operations Specialist
Phone: (215) 662-4634
Email: conley@upenn.edu

Mahasweta Dutt
Sr. Clinical Research Operations Specialist
Phone: (215) 662-4629
Email: ​mdutt@upenn.edu

Ellen Lindner
Clinical Research Operations Specialist
Phone: (215) 615-3421
Email: elindner@upenn.edu

 

Rosalyn McNeill
Sr. Training Specialist
Phone: (215) 662-4640
Email: ​rmcneill@upenn.edu

Eian More
Clinical Research Operations Specialist
Phone: (215) 349-5662
Email: eian@upenn.edu 

 

Nevine Mikhail
Administrative Coordinator
Phone: (215) 662-4484
Email: nevinem@upenn.edu

 

Kathy Tang
Sr. Clinical Research Operations Specialist
Phone: (215) 349-5355
Email: kathyt@upenn.edu

Finance

John Baumgardner
Clinical Research Financial Specialist
Phone:  (215) 573-4301
Email: johnbaum@upenn.edu

Marisa Cinousis
Clinical Research Finance Manager
Phone:  (215) 898-5665
Email: ​mcino@upenn.edu

Karyen Edwards
Clinical Research Financial Specialist
Phone:  (215) 573-4285
Email: karyen@upenn.edu

Alicia Fenerty
Clinical Research Financial Specialist
Phone:  (215) 573-4287
Email: afenerty@upenn.edu

Emerson Taylor
Clinical Research Financial Specialist
Phone:  (215) 573-4356
Email: emersont@upenn.edu

 

Compliance

Kristen Grace, M.D., Ph.D
Director, Compliance
Phone: (215) 662-0295
Email: ​kscgrace@upenn.edu

Lynn Bachalany
Sr. CR Regulatory Compliance Specialist
Phone: (215) 614-6054
Email: lynnbach@upenn.edu

Sonja Blazekovic
CR Regulatory Compliance Specialist
Phone: (215) 349-5297
Email: sonjab@upenn.edu

Kim Grazionale
CR Regulatory Compliance Specialist
Phone: (215) 349-5339
Email: grazk@upenn.edu

Matthew MacDonald 
CR Regulatory Compliance Specialist
Phone: (215) 614-6059
Email: mmacdona@upenn.edu

Sharon Molino 
Sr. CR Regulatory Compliance Specialist
Phone: (215) 349-5342
Email: molinos@upenn.edu

Melissa Myers
Sr. CR Regulatory Compliance Specialist
Phone: (215) 614-0887
Email: mmyers@upenn.edu

IND/IDE Unit

Shelly Fehr
Director, IND/IDE Support Unit
Phone: (215) 662-4639
Email: ​sfehr@upenn.edu

Barry Brock
Sr. Regulatory Affairs Specialist
Phone: (215) 614-6045
Email: bbrock@upenn.edu

Maria Caturla
Associate Director, Regulatory Affairs
Phone: (215) 662-4618
Email: caturm@upenn.edu

Deanna Didonato
Director, Regulatory Affairs
Phone: (215) 349-5401
Email: ​deannad@upenn.edu

 

Michelle Keon
Associate Director 
Phone: (215) 662-7744
Email: ​mkeon@upenn.edu

Judith LaLonde
Sr. Associate Director 
Phone: (215) 614-6060
Email: judithla@upenn.edu

Praharsh Shah
Sr. Regulatory Affairs Specialist
Phone: (215) 614-6046
Email: prahp@upenn.edu

Clinical Trial Contracting Unit

Kathryn Steinbugler, JD
Director, Clinical Trial Contracting Unit
Phone: (215) 573-9970
Email: kathryns@upenn.edu

Kathleen Chen, J.D.
Associate Director
Phone: (215) 573-6705
Email: ​kcc@upenn.edu

Karen Cooper, Esq.
Associate Director
Phone: (215) 898-5743
Email: ​kfoytlin@upenn.edu

Patricia Eynard, J.D.
Associate Director
Phone: (215) 746-5730
Email: ​peynard@upenn.edu

Marisa Marcin, J.D.
Associate Director
Phone: (215) 746-5065
Email: ​marcinm@upenn.edu

Kiran Matsko J.D.
Associate Director
Phone: (215) 746-5064
Email: ​kmatsko@upenn.edu

Mahesha Mitchell, J.D.
Associate Director
Phone: (215) 746-5731
Email: Mahesha@upenn.edu

Angie Sydnor
Senior Contract Administrator
Phone: (215) 573-8597
Email: Asydnor@upenn.edu

Barbara Walska
Senior Contract Administrator
Phone: (215) 746-5072
Email: bwalska@upenn.edu

Michelle Buono
Contract Administrator
Phone: (215) 746-8913
Email: mbuono@upenn.edu